REPUBLIC



OF CYPRUS

MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS AND WORKS DEPARTMENT OF MERCHANT SHIPPING LEMESOS

Circular No. 1/2002

TEN 1/5 TEN 32/4/12/12

10 January 2002

To all Owners, Managers And Representatives of Ships under the Cyprus flag

Subject: Prohibition of the use of Substances depleting the Ozone Layer,

With reference to the above subject, the Republic of Cyprus is a Party to the Vienna Convention for the Protection of the Ozone Layer and the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer, as amended and bearing also in mind Regulation 2037/2000 (EC) of the European Parliament and of the Council dated 29 June 2000 on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer (EC Regulation), we draw your attention to the following:

Article 5 of above-mentioned Regulation provides measures for the control of use of Hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFC) gases such as Freon-22.

In accordance with the EC Regulation, the use of HCFC gases is prohibited in new installations from 01.01.2001, except for systems with cooling capacity less than 100KW, for which the prohibition will start on 01.07.2002.

Therefore, the use of HCFC in refrigerating and cooling systems installed on ships flying the flag of the Republic of Cyprus after 01.01.2001, is prohibited.

For ships whose keels were laid on or after 01.01.2001 and they were registered in the Cyprus Registry **or** their building contract was signed on behalf of companies registered in Cyprus or were sold to such companies before the date of this circular <u>and the refrigerating or cooling systems were manufactured prior to 31.12.2000</u> and their installation was included in the building contracts, this Administration will consider any reasonable waiver, provided that, such an application will reach this Department not later than 30.06.2002 accompanied by all relevant supporting documents.

The EC regulation stipulates that the use of HCFC shall be totally prohibited by the 01.01.2015.

For your guidance, the EC regulation was published in the Official Journal of the European Community (L 244, 29/09/2000), and may also be found in the Web page of the European Communities at the following address:

http://europa.eu.int/eur-lex/en/lif/dat/2000/en_300R2037.html

S.S.Serghiou Director

CC: Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Communications and Works Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs Maritime Offices of the Department of Merchant Shipping abroad Diplomatic Missions and Honorary Consular Officers of the Republic Cyprus Shipping Council Unions of Cypriot Shipowners Cyprus Bar Association Recognized classification societies

d0105ak